Anurag Sharma

Anurag Sharma
Indian Institute of Technology Delhi
Hauz Khas,New Delhi-110016
Tel:+91-11-2659 1350 (O)

Areas of Interest: Fiber and integrated optics, and gradient-index optics.

ANURAG SHARMA did his postgraduate education at Indian Institute of Technology Delhi getting the Ph.D. degree in 1979.

In 1978 he joined the Department of Physics, Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi, where he is currently a Professor of Physics. In connection with his research, he has visited many countries including Germany, France, Italy, UK and Brazil.

Since 1975, Prof. Sharma has been working on elecromagnetic wave propagation in dielectric media with applications to waveguiding and imaging. He has coauthored a book UNDERSTANDING FIBER OPTICS ON A PC, which includes a software diskette, and has published over 90 research papers in reputed Journals including several review papers on characteristics of single mode fibers and waveguides, numerical simulation methods and methods for design and analysis of gradient index imaging systems. He has also presented over 130 papers in national and international conferences. He has also edited a book "GUIDED WAVE OPTICS: SELECTED TOPICS".

Prof. Sharma is a recipient of the S.S. Bhatnagar Prize (1998) in Engineering Sciences. He is also a recipient of the Indian National Science Academy's Medal for Young Scientists (1986), A.K. Bose prize (1991), the Homi Bhabha Fellowship (1990-92), M.N. Saha Award (1999) of the UGC and the S.K. Mitra Memorial Award of the IETE. He has been an Associate (1988-99) and Senior Associate (2001-2008) of the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics, Trieste (Italy)

He is a fellow of the Indian National Science Academy (New Delhi),Indian Academy of Sciences (Bangalore), National Academy of Sciences (Allahabad) and the Indian National Academy of Engineers. He also a fellow of the Optical Society of America (USA) and the Institution of Electronic and Telecommunication Engineers (India). He was the Vice-President of the Optical Society of India, during 2008-2012. He has been the Dean of Students (2006-2009) and the Dean, Academics (2012-2016) of the Institute.