News & Events

Physics Department colloquium : New Technology Innovations with Potential for Space Exploration

Physics Department colloquium : Scaling down the laws of thermodynamics

Physics Department colloquium : Cosmic Magnetic fields - An Origin Myth

1st International Conference on Thin Films and Nanotechnology: Knowledge, Leadership & Commercialization(ICTN-KLC) on 24-26 August 2021 (online mode)

Physics Department Colloquium: Laser-Plasma Acceleration in a Skin Layer

Physics Department Colloquium: The anomalous magnetic moment of the muon - From past to present

Physics Department Colloquium: Wave Turbulence, Zonal Jets and Staircase Patterns in Fluids and Plasmas

Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Delhi has established "Prof Ishwar Chandra Goyal Chair" in the Department of Physics, for advanced training and research in the field. Please check NDTV News.

DST video on Quantum Science and Technology with inputs from Dr. Bhaskar Kanseri

Research highlight of Dr Joyee Ghosh on her DST-QuEST sponsored project "Integrated sources of photons for quantum communication and information applications". These sources are generators of entangled twin photons for multiuser QKD. Please check ABP online.

Seminar: Surprises in Elementary Physics

The Online Physics Department Seminar scheduled for Monday 23rd November had to be cancelled due to certain unavoidable reasons

Dr. Rajendra Singh Dhaka and Dr. Saswata Bhattacharya have been honoured with NASI Membership, this year, 2020.

Prof. Ratnamala Chatterjee has been nominated as an Invited Speaker in the forthcoming 65th Annual Conference on Magnetism and Magnetic Material, November 2020.

Prof. Bodhaditya Santra is invited as foundation advisory board member of the International Artificial Intelligence and Quantum Technology Foundation.

Digital Holographic Microscope: A pursuit to change the vision | Kedar Khare | TEDxFORESchool

Department of Physics

We are one of the largest departments in IITD with 56 faculty members as of Jan 2020 having diverse interests. Our faculty strength is nationally and internationally recognized through many awards/fellowships such as SS Bhatnagar awards, ICO Galileo Galilei Awards, MRSI medals, AIP Fellowship, IRDC’s STA Fellowship, INSA Fellows, OSA Fellows, Humboldt Fellows. Many of faculty members serve on the editorial boards and technical program committees of several international publications and conferences.

The Department initiated its activities in 1961 and is currently one of the most popular physics departments in the country. It has an international research reputation, with several research contacts and collaborations across the globe. The department’s greatest resources are the students that fill its classrooms and state of the art facilities that existed at IITD.

Read More

Latest Research

See all the latest research here